Skip to content

Split Pea Soup

April 12, 2011

So most recently, a big life change has occurred for me.  For the next two years I will be living in Albuquerque, New Mexico for a big girl job!  It was an amazing opportunity that I could not pass up.

Needless to say, moving into my own little apartment has been awesome.  I have every kitchen appliance imaginable/that my dad could find on sale…so the first chance I could, I took advantage of it!

Meet my new obsession…the slow cooker.  I had recently been craving split pea soup, which brings back memories from my childhood when my tummy would hurt…this turned out so much better!

Of course I had to rep the bacon too!

The nice thing about a slow cooker is that you just throw everything in and leave it for a couple of hours.  So I got all my ingredients in the pot, then hit the gym and cleaned my apartment.  Meanwhile my whole apartment smelled of deliciousness 🙂

More to come with the slow cooker, enjoy!

xo

Amy

Recipe Courtesy of Crock Pot 365:

Ingredients:

-16oz package of dried split peas
– 1 package of turkey bacon
-1/2 yellow onion, diced
-1 potato, peeled and diced
-1 cup diced carrot
-4 cups vegetable broth
-1 cup water
-1 t salt
-1/2 t pepper

 

Directions:

1.  Put the peas, diced vegetables, broth, and water into the slow cooker.
2.  Add in salt and pepper (adjust to taste).
3.  Then put in your turkey bacon (uncooked), but reserve about 5 pieces for later on in the recipe.
4.  Next cover and cook on low 8-10 hours or high for 4-6. I cooked it for 6 hours on high.
5.  After 6 hours, remove the strips of turkey bacon and throw them away.
6.  You can then use a hand blender if you want a smoother texture…I didn’t have one, so I just left it thicker and it was still delicious.
7.  Cook your remaining pieces of turkey bacon till they are crispy, then crumble them over the top of your soup.
This stuff made great leftovers too!

 


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

