Skip to content

Raspberry Seafoam Cookies aka Raspberry Meringues

February 16, 2011

Hello World!

Sorry it’s been a while.  The only feeble excuse I can offer is that I have been traveling to NorCal to visit my brother (shoutout to Evan) and to Florida to visit my grandparents.  Since graduation I have been living in the lap of luxury.  It is so nice to have breakfast made for you every morning and someone else to do your laundry, the only negative is that I have become complacent and have not been cooking nearly enough!

So yesterday my Mom and I decided to combine forces and whip up something sweet for my daddy on Valentine’s Day.  My mom came up with the cutest recipe.  It was handwritten by her little 12 year-old self.  She told me that her neighbor used to make these “seafoam cookies” all of the time for the kids on her block and she loved it so much that she copied it down herself.  These little, pink, fluffy clouds were perfect for V-Day.

Take a look!

This was a special little one I made 🙂

Easiest recipe ever!  So delicious and sweet, you can’t go wrong.

Since we were in a rush to get these into the oven before my dad got home from work, I did not have time to take a picture of all of the steps, but they are so easy you won’t need them!

Ingredients (makes about 2 dozen):

3 egg whites
1/8 tsp. salt
3 1/2 tbsp. raspberry Jello (although you could really use any flavor you want)
3/4 c. sugar
1 tsp. vinegar
1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Recipe (Courtesy of Mrs. Rosner):

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 250 degrees and beat the egg whites until foamy.

Step 2: In a separate bowl, combine the Jello and the sugar. Then gradually add this mixture into the egg whites and beat until stiff peaks form.

Step 3: Next, mix in the vinegar.

Step 4: Fold in the chocolate chips (you can use regular size like I did but, mini chocolate chips would work just as well).

Step 5: Drop spoonful sized dollops onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.

Step 6: Pop these meringues into the oven for about 25 minutes.  Then turn off your oven, but let the meringues sit in there for another 20 minutes to dry them out a bit.   Then remove and let them stand for about 5 minutes, then enjoy!

Who could resist these light treats?  Have fun!

xo,

Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 4:55 pm

    Those are just so cute and pretty. Love the pink color. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-5.html

Leave a Reply

