Skip to content

Starbucks Banana Bread

June 7, 2010

It’s almost summertime here at UCLA!  It’s the last week of school, and I am busy studying for finals.  This quarter has been extra stressful thanks to my organic chemistry lab (yeah, gross) so I needed something tasty to brighten up my day.  I keep buying bananas and not eating them fast enough, so I’ve been freezing them to use for baking.  I decided to use some of the bananas from the freezer and make banana bread.  There are SO MANY recipes for banana bread out there, and I decided to try a new one for me.  I like the Starbuck’s banana bread, but I don’t like paying around $2.00 for a slice.  So I chose to make the recipe for myself!  I made a few alterations to the Starbucks recipe, including  adding brown sugar and more walnuts  on top to make it extra delicious.  It came out great and is definitely a recipe I would use again.

Enjoy,

Laura

Starbucks Banana Walnut Bread

Gather your ingredients.

Mix the dry ingredients.

Mix wet ingredients.  Combine wet and dry, and keep mixing until the flour is mixed in and looks like…

…this!

Pour into pan and top with desired amount of walnuts and brown sugar.

Bake for about an hour and feast!

Starbucks Banana Walnut Bread

recipe adapted from Starbucks recipe

Ingredients

3/4 Cup flour
2/3 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup mashed ripe (this is usually 2 or 3 bananas)
1/3 cup margarine
2 tablespoons milk
2 eggs
1 cup chopped walnuts (divided into 2 (1/2 C.) portions

brown sugar for topping

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium size bowl combine all dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt), stir together to combine.  In another medium size bowl combine margarine and sugar, with a mixer cream the margarine, and sugartogether until light and fluffy.  Add in mashed bananas, eggs, milk and mix well.  Add 1/2 of the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, mix until the flour is just mixed in, then add in the remaining flour and 1/2 cup walnuts, blend together until everything is mixed together.  Do not overstir.

2. Pour batter into a greased 8×4 inch loaf pan.  Then top the batter with the remaining chopped walnuts and brown sugar.   Bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

