Skip to content

Pecan Chews

March 26, 2010
tags: ,

It’s time for another recipe from The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder!  I had a ton of pecans leftover from the chocolate crinkle cookies I made a couple posts back, so I decided I would try out the pecan chews recipe from this book.  The recipe makes about 8 dozen cookies.  In the past I would have cut the recipe in half because let’s be honest that is way too many cookies.  But this time I decided what the heck might as well make the full batch.  However I didn’t make all 8 dozen at once.  I baked a couple dozen and formed the remaining dough into individual balls and stuck them in an air tight container in the freezer.  This was the BEST IDEA EVER.  Whenever I had guests over or felt like having a couple cookies all I had to do was take out a few balls of cookie dough, stick them in the oven, and have fresh out of the oven cookies whenever I wanted! Sounds amazing, right?  No need to thaw the cookie dough, just stick in the oven and cook for a few minutes longer, about 12-15 minutes.  Never again will I cut a cookie recipe in half!

Now for the pecan chews…I was a little skeptical at first.  I wasn’t really sure what a pecan chew was, but it was love at first bite.  I think I ate the entire first dozen myself in about 30 minutes…shh don’t tell anyone.  But really, they are that good.  It was nice having a cookie without any chocolate, and the pecans added a nice crunch to the soft cookie.  My verdict is that I would definitely make these again.  The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder once again delivered a great recipe!

Try these out for yourself!  The recipe is really easy and only requires one bowl.  Such an easy cleanup.

Enjoy,

Laura

Pecan Chews


Gather your ingredients. (I realized after taking this that you don’t need the baking powder, so ignore that.)

Mix brown sugar with melted butter, and allow a few minutes to cool.

Mix in beaten eggs

Mix in salt, baking soda, vanilla and, pecans.

Mix in flour.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, then try to resist eating them all in one sitting. (trust me, it’s hard)

Featured with chocolate crinkle cookies.

Pecan Chews

recipe from The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder

Makes 8-10 dozen cookies

Ingredients

1 cup butter (2 sticks)

3 cups brown sugar ***

4 eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups finely chopped pecans

4 cups flour

*** here’s a little trick: if you don’t have brown sugar, that’s ok.  Brown sugar can be made with white sugar and molasses.  Just use 1/8 cup molasses for every 3 cups of white sugar, and stir until evenly mixed

1. Preheat oven to 350 F

2. Melt butter and add brown sugar.  Mix well and let cool.  Add beaten eggs and mix.  Add salt, baking soda, vanilla, and nuts.  Mix well.  Add flour and mix until thoroughly distributed

2. Form dough into balls with your fingers (about the size of a walnut), and place them on a greased cookie sheet.  Press them down slightly with your fingers or a spatula.

3.  Bake at 350 F for 10-12 minutes.  Let cookies cool on sheet for 1 minute, then remove to a wire rack to finish cooling (once again, I don’t have a wire rack at school so I just placed them on a plate and they turned out just fine.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

