Skip to content

Peanut Butter Football Cocoa Rice Krispy Treats

February 26, 2010

The best part of the Super Bowl?  Definitely the food.  This year, I watched the game with a group at my friend’s apartment.  There was so. much. food.  Chili, cornbread, zucchini fritters, pumpkin pie tarts, and homemade hummus are only a few of the many delicious things we had to munch on while hanging out and watching some football.  My contribution?  I made my highly requested guacamole and these peanut butter football cocoa rice krispy treats.  These were a big hit!  I came late to the game, but had my roommates bring these over.  Once I got to the party, the guys ran up to me, gave me big hugs, and told me how much they loved the treats!  I know the big game has come and passed, but these treats can be made anytime of the year.  They are sticky and  messy while making, but overall this is a very simple recipe.  If you don’t want to make the football shape, you can use a 9 x 13 pan to shape and hold the treats.

Peanut Butter Football Cocoa Rice Krispy Treats

recipe adapted from Cooking on the Side (http://cookingontheside.com/cocoa-rice-krispies-football-treats/)

Ingredients

3 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 package (10 oz.) regular marshmallows – OR – 4 cups miniature marshmallows
1/2 cup peanut butter
6 cups chocolate flavored crisped rice cereal (such as Cocoa Rice Krispies®)
Canned frosting or decorating gel

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter until melted.

2. Add cereal. Stir until well coated.

3. Cool slightly. Using buttered hands shape mixture into sixteen 3-inch footballs. Decorate with frosting. Best if served the same day.

Store no more than two days at room temperature in airtight container. To freeze, place in single layer on wax paper in airtight container. Freeze for up to 6 weeks. Let stand at room temperature for 15 minutes before serving.

These are a delicious adaptation to your original rice krispy treats.  The peanut butter adds a hint of flavor to the chocolate rice krispies that really take these treats to the next level.  I know you will enjoy these just as much as my friends and I did!

Enjoy,

Laura

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

