Skip to content

Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

January 5, 2010

So I had some leftover fresh rosemary from when I made the pasta e fagioli soup…so I was looking for some quick and easy recipes to use it up and this is what I came up with…

Fresh Rosemary Shortbread Cookies!

These cookies were warm, savory, and delicious!  I will admit I was a little skeptical about putting rosemary in cookies, but my mom loves cookies like these, so I decided to try them for her.  They were very easy to make and they made about 3 dozen cookies, so perfect to take to dinner parties!

First you gather your simple ingredients and preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

Then you cream together your butter and sugar until it is in light and fluffy.

Then you cut your rosemary or just take it off the stem with your fingers, but my mother says that cutting the rosemary is much quicker because this recipe called for the rosemary in smaller parts.

Next you stir in your flour, rosemary, and salt until it is well blended. Then your dough will form (it will be a bit soft), then you cover the dough and refrigerate it for about an hour.

After an hour, you roll out your dough so that it is about 1/4 of an inch thick.

Then cut the dough into rectangles about 1 1/2 inches in size, then place them on a parchments lined cookie sheets

Bake the cookies for about 8 minutes, or until golden brown on the edges.  Then cool them on a wire rack.

Then the are ready to eat!  My grandma especially enjoyed them.  Everyone in the family liked them, even my little brother who was very skeptical as well.  They were sweet with a hint of rosemary flavor… it completely tasted like an enhanced version of shortbread.  I would definitely make them again!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups unsalted butter
2/3 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
Directions (adapted from allrecipes.com):
*Beforehand, preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
1.  In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and 2/3 cup of sugar until light and fluffy.

2.  Stir in the flour salt and rosemary until well blended. The dough will be somewhat soft.
3.  Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.
4.  On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thickness and cut dough into rectangles 1 1/2×2 inches in size.  Place them on your cookie sheets about 1 inch apart.
5.  Bake for 8 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden at the edges. Cool on wire racks, and store in an airtight container at room temperature.
Enjoy this new treat!
xo
Amy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 8:18 pm

    Hiya, I really enjoyed this post. I’ve just started up a site and making somewhat diverse articles. Do you object if I write about this article? I will of course provide you and this site full credit and place a link to this page :).

  2. October 21, 2010 11:08 pm

    Yet another nice posting, Much appreciated. I have scanned other entries on here and I liked what I saw. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

