Skip to content

Chicken Enchiladas

December 20, 2009

First, let me just say that winter break is AWESOME!  I have been home for about a week now and have been having a fun and (mostly) relaxing time at home.  I am still anxiously awaiting final grades though!  I hope everyone did well on finals, and can now enjoy their winter break 🙂  Make sure to spend some time cooking!

This past week I made pomegranate fudge, which will be posted sometime this week, and chicken enchiladas.  The chicken enchiladas were a little difficult, so I would maybe recommend making them with someone.  I was lucky that my sister, Emily, helped me out.

I didn’t know what to make for dinner, so I looked through my pantry and found this enchilada sauce.

There was a recipe on the back so I decided to try it out, and this was the final result.

Chicken Enchiladas


Gather your ingredients

Boil the chicken breasts in chicken broth for 15 minutes.

While the chicken is boiling, dice up half an onion.

Using 2 forks, shred the chicken.

Set up 2 frying pans: one with the enchilada sauce, and one with canola oil.  Fry corn tortilla in canola oil, then enchilada sauce.

After tortilla has been fried and dipped in sauce, fill with chicken, olives, onions, and cheese.  Roll up the tortilla and place in a microwavable dish.

Microwave for about 2 minutes on high, or until cheese is melted.  Then, Enjoy the enchiladas!

This was a very delicious dinner enjoyed by my family and me!  We even had leftovers for lunch the next day.  YUM!

-Laura

Chicken Enchiladas

(recipe from Trader Joe’s Enchilada Sauce bottle)

Ingredients

1 can of sliced black olives

1/2 onion

1 bag of desired cheese (I used a four cheese Mexican cheese blend)

corn tortillas

1/2 cup canola oil

Trader Joe’s Enchilada sauce

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

2 cups chicken broth

1. Add chicken breasts to boiling chicken broth.  Boil chicken for about 15 minutes.  While the chicken is boiling, drain the can of black olives and dice the onion.

2. Shred chicken using 2 forks.  Set up an assembly line with all the fillings for the enchilada.

3. Boil the canola oil and enchilada sauce on medium low heat.  When slightly boiling, fry corn tortilla in canola oil for 5 seconds, then the enchilada sauce for 5 seconds.  Fill with chicken, olives, onions, cheese, and roll up tortilla and place in a microwavable dish.

4.  Repeat with the rest of the tortillas.  If there is extra sauce, pour on top of enchiladas.  Top with cheese and microwave for 2 minutes on high, or until cheese is melted.

5. Dive in!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

