Skip to content

Apple Raspberry Crisp!

October 17, 2009

What do you think of when the fall season comes around?  Obviously when you are from the East Coast it means Apple Picking time!  Being from California, we don’t really go apple picking, nor do we even really have “seasons,” so it’s a lot of fun to make seasonal food that satisfies the soul here at school!

One of my best friends from school, Katharine happens to be from the lovely town of Glastonbury, Connecticut.  So she obliged me and let me fulfill my life goal of picking fresh apples in her home town.  I even got homemade cider and apple fritters/donuts (whichever you prefer to call them).  We drove into Connecticut, which is so beautiful!  The landscape is gorgeous, sprawling greens, with hundreds of trees all changing color.  It was very Gilmore Girls-esque, everyone had cute little houses on their own plot of land with big yards!  I would definitely consider having a fall home in Connecticut (clearly after I get rich off of this blog), hahaha.

Anyway, so as soon as I got back to Boston with about 8 lbs. of fresh apples, I knew exactly what I was going to do. Apple crisp!  Crisps of any kind have been a family favorite ever since we discovered the most delicious apple crisp at Campanile Restaurant in LA.  Thanks Mark Peel for creating this!  We now go there every Mother’s Day, and end each breakfast there with this mouth-watering, warm, crumbly, crisp.

And as I sit here sipping my tea, I can’t help but wish it was a nice warm cup of freshly made cider…

Here is a little preview of my trip and of the most delicious apple crisp you will ever eat!

IMG_4656Me on my first apple picking adventure!

IMG_4695The delicious crisp you will now all want to make!

So I thought off with a little photo montage of my apple picking trip!  Now you can all truly see where your food comes from (at least in this dish):

IMG_4645Katharine and I on the hay ride out to the orchards.

IMG_4664Here we are with 1 of the 5 different kinds of apples we picked.

IMG_4665Just our 10 lb bucket of freshly picked apples!

Now for the moment you have all been waiting for….the Apple Raspberry Crisp:

I decided to add raspberries to this because they are my absolute favorite fruit, and while scouring recipes, my friend Borna suggested I make the apple crisp recipe that included raspberries.  But honestly, the simple Betty Crocker recipe looked the most homey and delicious, so I thought, why not just add raspberries to that??  So I did.

IMG_4684Here are all of the ingredients you will need (please note that pumpkin is just in there for fall decorations).

IMG_4687Preheat oven to 375ºF.  Wash and peel about 4 medium apples (peeling is optional).

IMG_4688Then slice your apples and put them into a greased pan.  The recipe suggested a square pan, but all I had was this round cake pan, and it still worked perfectly!  Then I added in some raspberries to add a little bit of texture and tartness (plus my roommates and I are all obsessed with raspberries).  I even brought home a raspberry pie from the farm where I picked the apples at.

IMG_4689Next, combine all of your other ingredients in a bowl (make sure your butter is soft, or it won’t mix in).  Stir until thoroughly mixed.

IMG_4696Then sprinkle your dry ingredient mixture over the top of the apples and raspberries.  Pop this beauty into the over for about 30 minutes.

IMG_4700Take it out of the oven when the top is golden brown and apples are tender when pierced with a fork.  Then divide and eat plain, or with ice cream, or even regular cream drizzled on top.  We just had vanilla bean ice cream on hand.  Also, eating it warm is really the only way to go.  Enjoy!

This was honestly the easiest thing to prepare and make, and I think it is even my favorite thing I have made for the blog so far (shh don’t tell the other recipes).

Adapted from a Betty Cocker Recipe:

4 medium tart cooking apples, sliced (4 cups)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
1/3 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg


1.  Heat oven to 375ºF. Grease bottom and sides of 8-inch square pan or round pan.

2.  Peel and slice apples.  Then spread apples in pan.

3.  In medium bowl, stir remaining ingredients except cream until well mixed; sprinkle over apples.


4.  Bake about 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown and apples are tender when pierced with a fork. Serve warm with ice cream, or regular cream!

Perfect for a fall day!  Be sure to make enough, mine fed about 6 hungry college students.

Okay, so hip hip hooray for fall!  Till next week!

-Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. Borna permalink
    October 18, 2009 9:24 am

    im famous!

Leave a Reply

