Skip to content

Best and Easiest Bean Dip Ever!

October 6, 2009

MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL!! Just to clear things up, I actually made this yesterday for Monday Night Football (Packers vs. Vikings), but I just didn’t have time to post it then.

It’s that time of year again…the leaves are changing color, my favorite pumpkin spice latte is back, and so is football season! Being a sports fan of all types (although I am a die-hard LAKER fan), I definitely appreciate football, and always love kicking back and watching a game.  Although I have no local LA team to root for 😦 it is all about the Pats here.  So in honor of football season and the Patriots, I have decided to make “Grandma’s Famous Bean Dip.”  Now this is not actually MY grandma, but it is a good family friend of mines.  I have had this bean dip on every Super Bowl Sunday since I can remember what food tastes like.  It is quite the crowd pleaser, and makes a good sized portion.

IMG_4682Here is how it looks all ready to eat!

This bean dip is so easy, it literally takes 5 minutes to throw together, and about half an hour to bake.  So if you ever need a snack for any game, here is a go-to recipe.

IMG_4672These guys are all you will need.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

IMG_4673Then all you have to do is combine your beans, cream cheese, chili salsa, and sour cream and blend until smooth.  Now you can either use a food processor or a blender.  Being a college student, I was lucky we even had a blender here.  I also cut my cream cheese up into chunks, to make it easier to blend for the poor little blender.  I also used red salsa because I am not that much a fan of green salsa, but either tastes great!

IMG_4675Then you just pour your blended mixture into a cake pan so that the mixture is about 1 inch deep.  Mine was a little runnier than I would have liked, so next time I cam going to use a little less sour cream.

IMG_4678Then just top the mixture off  with your cheese (I used a shredded “Mexican Blend” that included Colby, Cheddar, and Monterey Jack to add a little extra cheese) and pop it into the oven.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

IMG_4679Then take it out of the oven and let it cool off and set for about 5 minutes.

IMG_4681Then set out for game time and dig in!

This was honestly the easiest and fastest bean dip ever!  Last Super Bowl Sunday, I brought it to a super bowl party and it was demolished by halftime.

Here is all you will need for Grandma’s Famous Bean Dip:

1 16 oz. can of refried beans

8 oz. cream cheese

1 cup green or red chili salsa (I went with mild, but if you are adventurous, you can go for hot!)

3/4 cup sour cream (original recipe called for 1 cup, but I wanted mine a little thicker)

2 cups grated cheese of your choice (cheddar is always good, but this Mexican cheese blend worked well too)

Directions:

1.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a blender or food processor, combine your beans, cream cheese, chili salsa, and sour cream and blend until smooth.

3.  Pour mixture into a cake pan and top with cheese.

4.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Enjoy sports fans!

-Amy

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:52 am

    Soo… I was in your house. eating some bean dip. And it was great. Especially with frozen chips. : )

    -Brian

  2. Amy permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:31 am

    thanks for revealing the secret to my bean dip i.e. the frozen chips….now everyone is going to do that. thanks a lot brian!

    but I’m glad you enjoyed the dip. haha

  3. LFFOS (Laker Fan Friend of Sam) permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:23 pm

    Nice step-by-step instructions. This looks like the perfect dish for a young couple entertaining for the first time. Perhaps worth forwarding to Mr. and Mrs. Odom.

  4. Dorothy permalink
    October 15, 2009 2:37 am

    We would all llike to know where you are finding these great recipes?

Trackbacks

  1. Best and Easiest Bean Dip Ever! « Mastering the Art of College Cooking « John's Blog

Leave a Reply

