Skip to content

Roasted Veggies

September 24, 2009

This week I decided on the theme, potatoes.  Potatoes happen to be my absolute favorite food.  There are so many things you can make with potatoes, and they always taste amazing.

There is just something about grandparents.  Not only are they the most loving, amazing, and generous people on earth, but the food they make just always tastes absolutely perfect.

Photo 72Photo 73

Meet my Bubbie.

My Bubbie is my favorite cook.  I look forward to visiting my grandparents for many many reasons (#1 being that I love them) including my Bubbie’s cooking.  Everytime I visit I over stuff myself with challah, cookies, cakes, kugel, chicken, and MORE.  One of my favorite dishes is my Bubbie’s roasted vegetables.  I request this dish a lot, and about a year ago my Bubbie taught me how to make it.  I didn’t realize how simple it was!  This is a very simple recipe, and in fact is more of a “how to” to roasting vegetables.  It is healthy, easy, and delicious.  I usually make a large batch and eat it throughout the week either with rice, chicken, or by itself.  Since we are college students, most of us have little to no experience cooking, so this is a great easy recipe to try out.

Ingredients: The ingredients can really vary for this recipe.  I like to make it with potatoes, carrots, onion, and mushrooms, but I have also tried zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, and green beans.  I learned that this isn’t a great way to cook broccoli, cauliflower, and green beans, but the zucchini tasted good.  Feel free to experiment!  That is part of the fun with cooking.  Also, the amount of veggies you use really depends on how much you want to make.  For this batch I used:

4 red potatoes

1 bag of carrots

1/2 red onion

1 carton of mushrooms

olive oil

salt

First, preheat the oven to 450 degrees, and take out a large 9 x 13 glass baking dish.

100_4678

Gather all your ingredients

100_4683

Wash mushrooms and cut in half (Tip: mushrooms soak up water.  When washing mushrooms, use a damp paper towel to wipe off the dirt instead of  washing under sink water.)

100_4685

Empty carrots and place mushrooms in dish.

100_4686

Scrub potatoes and use a small, sharp knife to cut out the eyes.  Cut potato in half, vertically cut in half again, and then horizontally dice up potatoes (they should be about 1/4 inch thick).

100_4690

Cut onion in half.  Cut in half again, and then thinly slice up the onion.

100_4691

I had more veggies than I thought, and needed an extra dish.  Place all the veggies in a semi-flat layer in the baking dishes.  Use a very small amount of olive oil to thinly coat the vegetables.  Add salt to your desire.  Make sure your hands are clean, and use them to mix together the vegetables.  Now all the vegetables share the olive oil and salt.  Put in oven and cook for about an hour, or until potatoes have browned.  I usually start checking at about 30 minutes and stir the vegetables around.

100_4695

After an hour, enjoy!  These can hold up in the fridge for about 5 days.

Peace, love, and potatoes,

-Laura

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

