Skip to content

Red Potato Casserole!

September 22, 2009

So as you all can tell, the theme of this week (as chosen by Laura) is POTATO!!  Now me, being a total carboholic, am totally in love with any and all things potato.  Potatoes are also awesome for us college students because a giant bag of them is “wicked” cheap, as they say here in Boston.  Libby and I totally took advantage of the fact that her parents were out here visiting, and they made a Costco run and bought us a giant bag of small red potatos.  My initial thought was to make potato dumplings, but then I realized that I didn’t know what “rice a potato” meant, and when I did figure out what it was, did not have the proper tools.  So then I found a super easy recipe for a delicious looking red potato casserole!  I also had pretty much all of the ingredients, just had to buy some sour cream and some chive blend of spices.

IMG_4747

Here are all of the ingredients you’ll need.

IMG_4748

You take 16 small red potatos and cover them in water and bring the pot to a boil.  I cleaned my potatos beforehand with just some water and scrubbed them down.  After you have got a boil going, turn the heat down and cover your pot with a lid for about 15-20 minutes, but just check them with a fork to see when they are tender.

IMG_4751

Then you drain the potatos.

IMG_4755

Next you combine the tender potatos, cubed butter, salt, and pepper in bowl.

IMG_4758

Then you mash the potatos!  I just mashed them with a fork, because college students don’t usually have a potato masher, but it was super easy with a fork, especially because the potatos were so tender.

IMG_4760

After that, you pour the mashed potatoes into a greased pan.  The recipe I looked at called for a 9×13 pan, but all I had was a lasagna pan that was a bit smaller, but that seemed to work equally as well.

IMG_4761

Now comes the good stuff, you sprinkle on 1 cup of the cheddar cheese, and your bacon.  I only used 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon because one of my roommates is a vegetarian, so I made a separate non-bacon section of the casserole, as you can see above.
IMG_4765

After the first layer, you then dollop on your sour cream, and the rest of the cheddar cheese, then top it off with the chives.  I didn’t want to invest in a whole bottle of just chives, because let’s be honest, how many recipes call for that?  So instead, I bought a cool freeze-dried salad herb assortment that included not only chives, but some red onions, parsley, and dill.  I thought the onions added a lot to the casserole!

IMG_4767

Then ya stick her in the over for 20-25 minutes, or until all of the cheese is melted.

IMG_4774

And poof,it comes out looking and smelling incredible.  As you can tell, my roommate and I dug in right away!

IMG_4775

Luckily, I had also made some Bisquick drop biscuits this morning for breakfast (again, gotta love the carbs), and so I heated the biscuit back up and had a good old southern-ish dinner!  I was definitely not disappointed.

Loaded Red Potato Casserole (modified from a Taste of Home recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 16 small red potatoes
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1/2 cup crumbled cooked bacon
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons chives or chive blend

1.) Place potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and cook for 15-20 minutes or until tender. Drain. 
2.) Mash potatoes with the milk, butter, pepper and salt. Transfer to a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Sprinkle with 1 cup cheese and bacon. 
3.)Dollop with sour cream; sprinkle with chives and remaining cheese. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until cheese is melted.

This recipe was incredibly easy, and made more than the 9 portions it said it would.  It is going to be dinner for the rest of the week.  This meal was also really economical because potatos are pretty cheap, and lots of the ingredients I also had on hand. After it came out of the oven I called it the “baked potato deconstructed.”  And yes, I have been watching too much Top Chef lately.  This dish is also an awesome idea for potlucks.  A couple of the girls in my sorority have already asked me to make another casserole to contribute  to our group dinners.  Eek I can’t wait to see what the rest of potato week has in store for us!

For now, keep the carbs coming!

-Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. Daniel Kerr permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:31 am

    That does look good, Amy. It’s good to be reminded that college students can cook, i.e. without a microwave. 🙂

Leave a Reply

